Birodh's Blog

Just another Board of feeling and thoughts….

Wireless problem ubuntu 10.04 (Solved)

Posted by Birodh on September 20, 2010

This works properly!

I got tired using Ubuntu9.04 because I could not use wireless in my Dell vostro 1320.
I upgraded that version to Ubuntu 10.1. But still the same problem. ….went through lots of forum got some idea and tried it but could not work.

Then I used following command to view my network card:
$ lshw -C network
then it showed following information about wireless network card along with other network card.
………………………
……………………..
*-network DISABLED
description: Wireless interface
product: BCM4312 802.11b/g
vendor: Broadcom Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:0e:00.0
logical name: eth1
……………….
………………

so knew that the product vendor is Broadcom and product is BCM4312 802.11b/g
.
I noted that the series is 4321
then, I ran to broadcom drivers website for linux , following the link below.

http://www.broadcom.com/support/802.11/linux_sta.php

there were lists of driver for different architecture of linux.
I checked my linux architecture using following commad
$uname -a
the output was:
Linux XXX-laptop 2.6.32-24-generic #41-Ubuntu SMP Thu Aug 19 01:38:40 UTC 2010 x86_64 GNU/Linux
see x86_64 in the above line. so it was 64 bit.
So, I downloaded the driver package for 64 bit. This package:

hybrid-portsrc-x86_64-v5.60.48.36.tar.gz

Unzip the package in a folder in desktop.
Then run following command in terminal. but make sure that your working directory is what you have unpackaged the downloaded driver.
$make clean
$ make
When the build completes, it will produce a wl.ko file in the top level directory.
Ok then you can use following command to install the driver.
$modprobe lib80211
or
$ modprobe ieee80211_crypt_tkip

Then:
$insmod wl.ko
wl.ko is now operational.It may take several seconds for the Network
Manager to notice a new network driver has been installed and show the
surrounding wireless networks. But in my case it didn’t take even a second.
If above procedure didn’t work then try the following thins then repeat the stps above.

I used following command to check pre-installed drivers

$lsmod | grep “b43\|ssb\|wl”

It may show
b43 or ssb or wl , but in my case there was only wl.
I used following command to remove it.
$ rmmod wl

but you can try these too, if you have any of these installed.
$rmmod ssb
$rmmod b43

“this is optional”
/*********************
To blacklist these drivers and prevent them from loading in the future:
# echo “blacklist ssb” >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
# echo “blacklist b43” >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
*******************/
Cheers!

Please let me know the result after you try.

Leave a Reply

 
